Databases, encyclopedias

Databases, encyclopedias

Databases - a selection

Academic Search Premier - Indexes about 8000 journals. Multidisciplinary, 1975-

BHI - British Humanities Index

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center, psychology, pedagogy 1966-

OECD iLibrary
provides access to all the reports, forecasts, e-books, magazines, statistical databases and other information that is regularly published by the OECD in a wide range of subject areas such as finance, technology, taxation, trade, education, employment, demography, technology, energy and environment.

Scopus - the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Multidisciplinary.1966-

Web of Science

Free Databases 

CROME - Critical Research On Men in Europe research Network working on a series of linked researches on men in Europe.

Feminae - Medieval Women and Gender Index
Women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages

FRAGEN - Frames on Gender
Original texts on gender+equality frames that have emerged from feminist movements in Europe.
Core feminist texts from 29 countries.

GenderInn -  information on feminist theory, feminist literary criticism, and gender studies, with a focus on English and American literature.

GREDA
Gender researchers in Sweden.

ILO Gender Equality Tool
International Labour Organization

JÄMDA
English version under construction.

KILDEN - an information centre for gender research in Norway

KVINFO -  the Danish Centre for Information on Gender, Equality and Ethnicity 

KVINNSAM - Women’s, Men’s and Gender Studies. An interdisciplinary database. 1978-
All the material is indexed with the help of controlled subject headings in Swedish and English from the Library’s own thesaurus.
For search tips for KVINNSAM click here.

XY - a website focused on men, masculinities and gender politics
coordinated by Michael Flood

RoSa - Documentation Centre and Archives on Feminism, Equal Oppurtunities and Women´s Studies. Belgium.

Worldwide guide to women in leadership
A site dedicated to women rulers. Lists of state leaders, ministers, party leaders, ambassadors, etc.

 

 

All databases

 

 

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

American masculinities : a historical encyclopedia

Encyclopaedia Britannica 
One of the most well-known English encyclopedias. Contains also Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus

International encyclopedia of men and masculinities edited by Michael Flood... et al.

A concise companion to feminist theory edited by Mary Eagleton
Printed version

Encyclopedia of feminist theories, edited by Lorraine Code.

Encyclopedia of gender and information technology / Eileen Trauth, [editor]
Printed version

Handbook of gender and women´s studies, edited by Kathy Davis, Mary Evans, and Judith Lorber

Men´s Bibliography
A comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender and sexualities. La Troube University

Oxford handbook of transnational feminist movements, Baksh-Soodeen,Rawwida, Harcourt, Wendy

 

All e-reference books

Printed

Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender / editor-in-chief, Judith Worell

A companion to gender studies / edited by Philomena Essed, David Theo Goldberg, and Audrey Kobayashi.

Women´s movement today. An encyclopedia of third-wave feminism.
Vol. 1, A-Z, Vol. 2, Primary documents

Women´s studies Encyclopedia, edited by Helen Tierney
Vol. 1, Views from the sciences. Vol. 2, Literature, arts and learning. Vol. 3, History, philosophy and religion.

Google Scholar

  e-jour

Report errors
Report any error that occured when using e-journals, e-books and databases