Databases

Databases

General databases

 

Scopus (LiU only)
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database. It indexes over 15,000 journals from over 4,000 publishers in science, technology, medicine and social sciences. There are also online resources from Scirus and patents from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Also allow citation searches with citations recorded from 1996- .

Web of Science (LiU only)
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database. It indexes over 10,000 journals from all major publishers in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities. Also allow citation searches with citations recorded from 1945- .

Physics specific databases

 

ArXiv (Free)
Open access to approx. 600,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

Ceramic abstracts/World Ceramics abstracts (LiU only)
produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts in conjunction with CERAM Research Ltd. This is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.

High-energy physics literature database (Free)
Search more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed by the SLAC and DESY libraries since 1974.

Inspec (LiU only)
Inspec provides comprehensive coverage in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering. In addition there is significant coverage of areas such as operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.

Institute of Physics journals database (Free to search, but fulltext limited to LiU only)
Search electronic journal articles from the Institute of Physics.

MathSciNet (LiU only)
Mathematics and its applications in statistics, computer science, optimization theory, econometrics, physics, biology and related areas
1940- .

METADEX (LiU only)
METADEX is the only comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Begun in 1966, METADEX contains over 1,425,000 references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index. 1966- .

ReAxys (LiU only)
ReAxys is a facts database with properties for materials and chemical compounds. Includes an advanced search interface with structure search and reaction and synthesis planning tools.

SciFinder Scholar (LiU only)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. 1907- .

Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts (LiU only)
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, expanded and jointly published with Engineering Information, presents global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.

Springer Materials (Landolt Börnstein) (LiU only)
SpringerMaterials is based on Landolt-Börnstein, a classic reference work with unique and evaluated data about 250 000 substances and materials, 3000 properties, referenced with 1 200 000 literature citations. The contents are aimed at all researchers in physics, chemistry and engineering.




Databases and availability

The library has acquired a number of databases. These pages presents the ones with the greatest relevance to physics. Also some free resources are presented here.


Availability

You have full access to all electronic resources (databases, electronic journals, e-books, etc.) from all terminals in the university domain. You also have access to them from any terminal at any time if you are a registered student or employee of the University.

All you need to know about logins

IoP Database Feed

Loading

Google scholar